Looking after your Mental Health and General Wellbeing

This is a new initiative and will be getting updated regularly to bring you helpful advice and tips and links.

Covid-19 please see our page here

PTSD

Combat Stress have written a wonderful article for us on PTSD here

Combat Stress PTSD Help

Useful Helplines:

Military specific

**NEW** Samaritans Veterans app (www.samaritans.org/how-we-can-help/military/samaritans-veterans-app/) provides UK Military Service Leavers and Veterans with emotional health and wellbeing information, guidance and resources. Looking After Your Team booklet

Veterans NHS mental health services (Op COURAGE: The Veterans Mental Health and Wellbeing Service) This is the new name for: The Veterans’ Mental Health Transition Intervention and Liaison Service (TILS); the Veterans’ Mental Health Complex Treatment Service (CTS); the Veterans’ Mental Health High Intensity Service (HIS)

Armed Forces Champions DWP (www.gov.uk/government/publications/jobcentre-plus-services-for-the-armed-forces-and-their-families/armed-forces-enhanced-access-to-jobcentre-plus-services-and-armed-forces-champions) Armed Forces access to Job Centre Plus services

SSAFA The Armed Forces Charity Forcesline (www.ssafa.org.uk/get-help/forcesline) for serving personnel, Veterans and their families 0800 731 4880 (Mon to Fri 10.30am-7.30pm)

Veterans Gateway (www.veteransgateway.org.uk) 24/7 first point ofcontact for Veterans seeking support, from healthcare and housing to employability, finances, personal relationships and more. 0800 802 1212

The Royal British Legion (www.britishlegion.org.uk/) safeguards the welfare, interests and memory of those who are serving or who have served in the Armed Forces. Helping serving and ex-Service personnel and their families

Help for Heroes (www.helpforheroes.org.uk/) raises money to support members of the Armed Forces who have been wounded in the service of their country

Combat Stress (combatstress.org.uk/) is the UK’s leading military charity specialising in the care of Veterans’ mental health

PTSD UK (www.ptsduk.org/) Post Traumatic Stress Disorder website for ex-Service men and women who think they are suffering from PTSD (PTSD and CPTSD self-help guide)

BLESMA (British Limbless Ex Servicemen’s Association) (https://blesma.org/) is the national charity for limbless service and ex-service men and women and their dependants and widows

War Widows’ Association of Great Britain (www.warwidows.org.uk/) works to improve the conditions of war widows, widowers and their dependents and recipeints of benefits from the Armed Forces Compensation Scheme 2005

Army Widows’ Association (www.armywidows.org.uk/) Bereavement Support Group offering comfort, support and friendship to the widows, widowers and dependents of Army personnel who die in service

Naval Families Federation (NFF) (nff.org.uk) a point of contact for bereaved families 02392 654374

Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund (www.rafbf.org) supports current and former members of the RAF, their partners and families, providing practival, emotional and financial support 0300 654374

Royal Navy Royal Marines Charity (www.rnrmc.org.uk) supporting sailors, marines and their families

Scotty’s Little Soldiers (www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk) dedicated to supporting the children of men and women killed in action while serving with the British Armed Forces

ABF, The Soldiers Charity (soldierscharity.org) is the Army’s national charity for soldiers, former soldiers and their families for life

The Veterans Charity (www.veteranscharity.org.uk) provides fast, direct support to Veterans facing hardship and distress

The White Ensign Association (www.whiteensign.co.uk) offers personal help and advice for all serving and former members of the Royal Navy, Royal Marines, Royal Fleet Auxiliary, their Reserves and Families

The Poppy Factory (https://www.poppyfactory.org/are-you-looking-for-work) employment support for veterans with health conditions

General

Shout (www.giveusashout.org) is a crisis text support service for people who are struggling and need immediate support to get through a crisis. Text CONTACT to 85258

Childline (www.childine.org.uk) offers support to children or young persons where domestic abuse is happening in the home or within a relationship and is free to call on 0800 1111

Galop (www.galop.org.uk) provides an LGBT+ Domestic Abuse Helpline and is free to call on 0800 999 5428

Hour Glass (www.wearehourglass.org) challenges the abuse of older people in all its forms and is free to call on 0808 808 8141

Karma Nirvana (www.karmanirvana.org.uk) supports victims of honour based abuse and forced marriage and is free to call on 0800 5999 247 (Mon to Fri 9am–5pm)

Men’s Advice Line (www.mensadviceline.org.uk) is a confidential helpline for male victims of domestic violence and those supporting them and is free to call on 0808 801 0327

National Domestic Abuse 24/7 helpline, which offers support to victims and people affected by domestic abuse, is free to call on 0808 2000 247

NHS 111 (www.111.nhs.uk) to access medical help fast but when it’s not a 999 emergency call 111 or in Wales 0845 4647.

Samaritans (www.samaritans.org) provides 24/7 confidential emotional support for feelings of distress, despair or suicide thoughts 116 123

The Respect Phoneline (www.respectphoneline.org.uk) provides confidential advice and support to help perpetrators stop being violent and abusive and is free to call 0808 802 4040

Togetherall (www.togetherall.com/en-gb) is a safe 24/7 online service supporting your mental health in terms of anxiety, depression and other common mental health issues.

Victim Support National 24/7 Supportline (www.victimsupport.org.uk) 08 08 16 89 111